Daily Archives: July 28, 2008

Fabric For Dummies

The key to beautiful creations is coordinating fabrics. It’s that simple. I recognize it when I see some of the amazing things people are making.. but I couldn’t do it, couldn’t get my fabrics to match up quite right. And now I feel so stupid. You see, I was trying to pick my fabrics from a huge store filled with thousands of fabrics that were grouped by fabric type, not by designers.

So Saturday Goosie and I loaded up in the car and headed to a quilting shop, a trip I’ve been wanting to take for weeks. I had it in my head that I wanted to see, and touch, some of Amy Butler’s line. The moment I opened the door to that shop I knew exactly why my fabrics weren’t working. I’d been missing something so essential, isles and isles of amazing collections by all the top designers..COLLECTIONS.. Ah, now I get it! So, at that moment my only question was how to pick just one? In the end it wasn’t Amy’s I went with, though I carried a charm pack around with me the whole time. I settled with Sandi’s Ginger Blossom. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it.. maybe just hold it and adore it once or twice a day. But I have it, it’s mine, and it makes me happy! I let Goose choose her favorites for her special project and she went with a few from  Michael Miller..Choc. Bubble Blast, Carnival Bloom, & Play Diamond… So lovely.

Now I know how to choose the perfect fabrics, go to the quilting shop. They have it all and so perfectly grouped. It’s so easy.. From now on I’m going to look so smart! 🙂 Of course you could order online… but, for me, it’s not the same as feeling it and seeing it in natural light.

Find a good quilting shop and go… it’s worth it.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, Sewing, Uncategorized