I’m Only Saying It’s Working for Me.

Remember back when I talked about dropping a few pounds? I mentioned it a time a two.. In fact, I even put a cute little weight loss ticker on my sideboard.. it stayed there until The Ticker Factory took it back because my weight didn’t changed in 3 months. (oops) Well, lately a few of the women in my office have been dropping a significant amount of weight.. and I suppose that’s what has put me back on the bandwagon. I mentioned to my doctor that I’d really been trying..I’ve been walking/running and trying to make smarter food choices.. blah, blah. He offered to prescribe me Phentermine.. and can you believe I declined it?

I know, crazy me, I usually love the easy way out :).

But in all seriousness, I’m only a few pounds overweight and diet pills seemed a little extreme to me. Hasn’t it been proven that weight loss through medication is usually only temporary? So instead he gave me a diet that he said had worked for him. I’m posting this diet here.. NOT because I think you should try it, but because I don’t want to lose it…and my friend Julie wants a copy. It’s not a quick fix.. but I have been somewhat successful with it so far. (3 weeks, 5 pounds)

The 3 day diet
breakfast 1
1/2 grapefruit or juice
1 slice of toast
1 tbsp Peanut butter
black coffee or tea

lunch 1
1/2 cup tuna
1 slice toast
black coffee or tea

dinner 1
2 slices (3oz) any meat
1 cup string beans
1 cup carrots or beets
1 cup vanilla ice cream

breakfast 2
1 hard boiled egg
1 slice toast
1/2 banana
black coffee or tea

lunch 2
1 cup cottage cheese or 1/2 cup tuna
5 saltine crackers

dinner 2
2 all beef wieners
1 cup cabbage or broccoli
1/2 cup carrots or turnip greens
1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

breakfast 3
1 hard boiled egg
1 slice toast
black coffee or tea

lunch 3
1 slice cheddar cheese
5 saltine crackers
1 small apple
black coffee or tea

dinner 3
1 cup tuna
1 cup carrots or beets
1 cup green beans or cauliflower
1 cup cantaloupe or 1 small apple
1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

The rules:
don’t substitute
you can use sweetener in tea
may use salt and pepper but no other seasonings
use for 3 consecutive days each week
after 3 days of dieting, you can eat your usual food, but do not overeat!!
after 4 days of normal eating start diet back.
don’t change the rules

4 Comments

Filed under Health, Ramblings

4 responses to “I’m Only Saying It’s Working for Me.

  1. I don’t suppose you can have butter on that toast? Congrats on your weight loss!

  2. No :)… but I’ll tell you what I do do. The 1st day I can have peanut butter for breakfast… so I smear that all over my toast and then pop it back in the oven for a sec… and Hmmmm! You can not beat melted PB.

  3. Congratulations! I am doing a diet here too but I have a lot more to lose. I have lost 5 pounds so far as well but went cold turkey with sugars and flour. It is hard but I am so addicted to sugar that I am trying to break it.

    Anyway, I think most people I know are dieting right now. I wish you must success as well.

  4. *Sweets aren’t that big of a deal for me. My problem is portion size. It’s funny that a thing like that sneaks up on you… I’ve overindulged so long that now a huge plate of spaghetti is normal. My new routine is to cut it in half. But you’re right… it’s hard. 🙂 Good luck to you as well!* *(If I lose this weight I might just make myself a new dress or something – lol)*

Leave a Reply

