How I Succeeded In Reverse Applique

I had a little time this weekend to work on my Craft Hope quilt. I’ve never done reverse applique before so I’ve been enjoying the process…planning it out in my head..pinning it down and visualizing how it will hold together once it’s sewn. So far so good. It’s really quite easy. If you’ve never attempted it, let me encourage you to go for it. You can totally do this.
This is how I went about it..

First I picked an easy shape..the circle. Duh, cause who can go wrong with a circle. Then I pulled out two plates..one slightly bigger than the other.

2 plates

I traced the smaller of the two plates with chalk right on to the reverse side of my quilt top. I did this several times to give me the desired look I was going for.

trace plate

desired look

Once I was happy with the layout I traced the larger of the two plates on to the back of my print fabric and cut out.. you don’t have to be exact with your cutting.. the excess fabric will be hidden between the top and the back of your quilt.

Then I pinned the print fabric to the backside on my quilt top using my first set of chalk outlines to line it up.

back of print

I flipped it and again traced the smaller of the two plates in the same place on the front of my quilt. (You’ll use your pins as a guide line.) This gives you a sewing line.

small plate w pins

Cut your top circle out leaving about a 1/4 inch for turning under. Be sure not to cut your print fabric when doing this.
Cut out full circle.

cut

Then cut small slits in the extra 1/4 inch so that there will be no puckering.

slits

Turn under and pin. Remove underside pins.

pinned

Take it to your sewing machine and sew around your circle as close to its edge as possible.

sew

Repeat until you’re happy with the look.

My applique is done.. maybe I’ll have a finished quilt to show you in my next post… hopefully.  edit – below..The Quilt

craft hope quilt closeup

4 Comments

Filed under quilting, Sewing

4 responses to “How I Succeeded In Reverse Applique

  1. Wow. You’re a posting early bird! Your tutorial is well done and your hope quilt is going to be adorable. Can’t wait to see the finished project. Some child will be happy, happy.

    oxo

  2. I have never done the reverse applique before. Thanks for the tutorial. I can’t wait to see the finished quilt! It looks great! Hurry up so we can see!!!

  3. you just got yourself a place in my bookmarks

  4. *Yeah! It’s always exciting to know someone is actually interested in what I have to say… so I thank you!!! You’ll find I’m a little random.. here and there with my different crafty adventures. One day it might be quilting the next crochet. I can’t pick a favorite so I just skip around. Again, thanks for coming by.. drop me a comment anytime! 🙂

    *

Leave a Reply

