The Ice Cream Quilt Free Pattern

So, as I said, I’m not an expert quilter.. no where near.. and I don’t like to measure ANYTHING. My quilt was really made as if each block was its own project.. and then as an end result pieced together. I don’t like things too symmetrical or extremely well planned. This is my way.. I’m aware that most of you are the exact opposite 🙂 and that is why I’ve attempted to
put some type of order to this quilt (though I encourage you to “wing it” and break a few rules.. you’ll love the freedom). As a result of my madness, the free pattern pieces will not provide you with a quilt that measures exactly mine. I’ll leave the size of your quilt to your discretion.. The measurements given are roughly a queen size, which is what mine turned out to be. Your blocks should end up a little more symmetrical, and hopefully the whole process will take you less time. The binding is simply leftover scraps sewn together.. Some of you might have just gasped at that.. Yes, I know it won’t hold up as well as if it were just one solid piece of fabric.. but that fact doesn’t bother me in the least. If I have to go in a different direction down the road I will. A scrap binding is the look I wanted so I went for it. YOU choose the look that YOU love. That’s the beauty of handmade!

And here’s my disclaimer: I reserve the right to say that this quilt pattern will not be perfect (it’s just not in my nature :))

Good luck.. and if you make this quilt or anything made from my pattern I’d love, love, love it if you’d send me a link so that I can see what you’ve done with it. Happy quilting!

Instructions

&

Layout

icecream block 1

“block 1”

icecream block 2

“block 2”

icecream block 3

block 3

icecream block 4

block 4

icecream block 5

block 5

icecream block 6

block 6

icecream block 7

block 7

icecream block 8

block 8

icecream block 9

block 9

icecream block 10

block 10

icecream block 11

block 11

icecream block 12

block 12

10 Comments

Filed under quilting, Uncategorized

10 responses to “The Ice Cream Quilt Free Pattern

  1. Thank You! Thank You! I can’t wait to get started!! I loved your scrappy binding! I thought it added a lot to the quilt!

  2. Wow you did a great job on the patterns and instructions! I am so impressed, so professional looking! Thanks again Renee!

  3. Shoo, thanks! It was way harder than I thought it would be. I misplaced several of the original patterns and had to go back are redo.. and I’m terrible with measurements.. so be sure to double check everything. I never, never measure.. just throw together and go. So, there will be mistakes… just saying! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  4. Oh this is too stinkin’ cute – I had to blog about this too, lol – I want one for summer! Thank you so much!

  5. This is very charming and I’m impressed that it’s needle-turn applique! I like your style of quilting… make it up as you go along. Sometimes that’s the only way to make a quilt work… have fun with it!

  6. amy

    Thank You!! very pretty colors in yours.Amy

  7. *Thanks Amy. I wanted something that would pop with the black background pieces. If I hadn’t been so lazy I would have done something a little different… One of my other ideas was to make my block boarders a little uneven in multiple colors by using a layering technique. If you want tons of color, I think this would be a terrific choice. – thanks for visiting!*

  8. I couldn’t agree with you more Sharilee!! The process is the fun part. & if there are a lot of rules, that takes the fun out of it. As far as the applique, I love needle-turn. It gives it a nice finished look, and looks far better than other methods after it’s been washed. & Thanks for stopping by my little blog!!

  9. *Thanks Allie! Cute is the name of the game in my book. Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for posting on my little quilt. I appreciate you!!*

  10. How cute. Thank you so much for sharing. I can’t wait to make it.

Leave a Reply

