Simple, 1 yard, $10 Bathroom Curtains

So I order myself a little of Laura Gunn’s latest Poppy collection from my bloggy friend, Melanie at Fabric Family Fun.

As I’ve said before, I love, love, love Laura’s stuff! Just love it. It’s bright and bold.. and simply fabulous.

I made some very simple curtains for my bath with only one yard of this lovely fabric (Spice-Big Poppy).

finished curtains

If you’d like to give it a whirl here’s what you’ll need:

1. One yard of fabric
2. Two packs of double fold bias tape (quilt binding)
3. Matching thread

One Yard
one yard

Cut right down the middle (long ways) to make two panels
cut in half

Pin you bias tape down the sides of your panels (your fabric should slide between the tape)
pin

Sew
sew

Once all four sides of your panels are sewn.. measure bias tape for the bottom of your panels with about an extra half inch on each side. Turn the extra under like so..
under

Pin tape to the bottoms of your panels and sew.

Decide how long you’d like your curtains to be… I wanted mine to fall right at the molding of my window.  Fold the excess under.. this will be the top of your curtain.
folding top

Then flip about a half inch under again to give yourself a nice finish. Sparingly pin.
2nd fold

Now, you want your panels to be even..so this is probably the most crucial step.. If you’re a pro with a measuring tape then measure twice and sew.. I’m too lazy to measure.. I pin my panels together with the bottoms together like this…
pin evenly

then I match my tops exactly and pin down.. like this…
top fold & pin

then sew your tops closed and hang.
curtains again

Bathroom curtains for about 10 bucks. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Decorating, fabric, Sewing

7 responses to “Simple, 1 yard, $10 Bathroom Curtains

  1. Those look really great! I’m following.

    Found you via one of your friend’s tweets on Twitter!

  2. *Someone was Twittering about me? Ha! You just made my day! 🙂 I’m glad you found me. I hope you find something on my little blog that you can use. & now, I’m off to find your blog. LOL,*

  3. They look great! I never thought of bias tape for curtains, but I really like it! What a great idea! You are soo crafty!

  4. *I chose bias tape because I wanted to get them done ASAP.. Goose was due back from her sleepover and when she’s in the house I have to stop whatever I’m doing MANY times before it’s complete. So, I grabbed my ‘stash’ box and pulled out the tape.. and I had enough time to takes pictures :)*

  5. Hi, thanks for your work! I looked for something like that, but Icouldn’t find anything that’s that what I was searching. You helped me to save god knows how much time.. Thanks!

  6. love it never throught of using tape

Leave a Reply

