Twirly Crochet Skirt

You would think it’s a Can-Can Skirt by the way Goose was twisting and kicking around the house in it. And of course she had to put on her clompy heels and stomp.. You know, just to make sure EVERYONE was paying attention. I kept telling myself, while resisting the urge to pull out my hair, that it only means she likes it.


This one is a little more dainty than the last. The ribbon drawstring makes it so much sweeter. I just need to whip up a pair of stretch shorts to wear under it. The stitches are single crochet, but I used my rug hook… so they’re big with seeing room in between. Not a very lady-like look.


I’m not exactly liking the shrug and the skirt together either. The yarns are from the same color scheme, but for some reason I don’t think they go. The skirt looks better alone.. and the shrug looks better with a turquoise color. Don’t you think?


All in all, cute though. The skirt took one skein of yarn to make and only a few hours spread out over a few days. The majority of it is single crochet…

For anyone looking to make one, this is what I did..

*Measure your waist and using your H hook make a chain to match your measurement..
*Rows one and two, all sc
*Third row went like so.. 2dc, ch, skip next stitch and repeat (this is so you can lace your ribbon thru).
*Forth row, again all sc..
*Firth and rest, changed to a rug hook and sc.. adding an extra stitch every three stitches in every third row.
*Add buttons and ribbon.. (make shorts if you prefer a lady-like appearance) .. and you’re done.

Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver
Color: Orchid

5 Comments

Filed under crochet

5 responses to “Twirly Crochet Skirt

  1. tina

    super cute! toss a pair of print lsgging under that and all set to strut to school or a party!

  2. I agree with your comparison, but I can’t figure out why. You would think they would look great together! Really cute skirt though! I agree with Tina, this would look great with some capri leggins! Then you can start on something else!

  3. I was really disappointed when Goose put on the shrug with her skirt. I hadn’t even considered that they wouldn’t match. It was pretty much a let down. 😦 But, I think it’ll do with just the little tank… & I too totally agree with Tina… leggings would tie the look together and cover everything that needs covering. Now, I just have to pick them up at the store. As for starting something else??? I’m kinda on hold right now. As of today, there’s nothing that’s calling my name. We’ll see.

  4. M

    Goodness! Goose is growing up…. She is beautiful. She is so skinny. Her legs remind me of mine growing up! Does she eat or did she not get our love for food??

  5. πŸ™‚ She eats like a horse and weighs in at all of 50 pounds! She takes after her daddy. He was 5″2 until he was 17… then he grew an foot in one year. If she’s lucky she’ll get his metabolism and never have to worry about weight gain. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

