Puffed Baby Blanket & Pattern

Well, well, look who’s finally decided to show up. 🙂 I’ve been incognito for some time now and lots has happened since my last post.. most of it unpleasant so I won’t get into it (save you all some tears). Along with life changing events, I did do a bit of crafty stuff as well… A baby blanket for friends. It’s their very first baby and it’s going to be a girl! Super exciting news. Here’s it is..

 

The pic isn’t so great (what’s new, right?) but the grey and pink is oh so sweet!

And here’s the pattern for anyone who’s interested.

Hook: H/8 – 5.00 MM

Yarn: I Love This Yarn

Yarn Colors:

Grey = Color#/Name# 201-Greybeard

Pink= Color#/Name# 100 pink
Body of the Blanket
Row 1- Ch 129, plus 2 sc, turn; working in both loops, in fifth ch from hook *(sc, 2 dc) into next sc, skip 2, (sc, 2 dc) into next sc. Repeat from * until three stitches are remaining. Skip two stitches, sc in last stitch. Turn.
Row 2- Ch 3 (counts as 1st dc from here and on out), dc in second sc from hook, dc into next sc and into all sc until you reach the end. Turn.
Row 3- ch 2, in fifth sc from hook *(sc, 2 dc) into next sc, skip 2, (sc, 2 dc) into next sc. Repeat from * until three stitches are remaining. Skip two sc, sc in last loop. Turn.
Repeat rows 2 and 3 forty-seven times.
fasten off.

Border
Fasten on with new color at left-hand side of top of blanket. Sc in both loops around entire blanket with foundation stitch of 4 ch, plus 4.
Row 1- 1 sc into second ch from hook, 1 sc into each ch to end, turn.
Row 2- ch 1, 1 sc into first sc and into each sc to end, turn.
Row 3- ch 1, 1 sc into first sc, skip next sc, 5 dc into next sc, *skip next sc, 5 dc into next sc, skip next sc, 1 sc into next stitch, repeat from * to end.
fasten off.

Flowers (Make 4)

With original color ch 2. Sc in 2nd chain from hook 12 times. Fasten off.

With second color fasten on. * Sc in first ch, 5 dc in next st, 1 sc. * repeat until five petals are are made. (for the one slightly bigger flower I squeezed in 6 petals).
Fasten off.
With matching tread sew flowers to blanket.

6 Comments

Filed under crochet

6 responses to “Puffed Baby Blanket & Pattern

  1. Glad you’re back and sorry the last part of your year hasn’t been awesome. I was just thinking about you and how we need to sew some leotards/swimsuits here soon–let’s think warm thoughts.

    Hope it is going better for you.

  2. Oh Renee, I am so sorry that you have been having a bad time! I know that is why I disappeared. If you ever need to talk about it, I am here!

    I love the pink and grey combination of your blanket! It is adorable! I love the flowers you added to it!

    Here’s to a great new year for both of us!

  3. Missing you…hope things are looking brighter. ((((Renee))))

    oxo Judy

  4. Very lovely 🙂 I wish I could make things like these
    check me out at http://www.foodpeopleloveandstuff.wordpress.com

  5. Renee, I still wonder about you from time to time. Would love to know you are ok. No details…just that you “are”. Judy

  6. Hi,
    I made this blanket in one evening, it was so easy and is so lovely! Of course I’ve linked back to your site for anyone keen to try it!
    My neighbours love it, and really love that its handmade.
    Nice one.
    Thanks, I’ll be making this again!

Leave a comment