5th Grade Bookbag

The bag is done, thank goodness.

I’m not as crazy about this one as the others I’ve made..

2nd grade


4th grade

The construction is equally as good, but the fabrics aren’t bold enough for my liking. Goose on the other hand thinks the fabrics are awesome. I held my tongue at the fabric store, being that this is HER bag and not mine, and let her mix and match any way she choose. None are from the same collection – a move I’m not near strong enough to make.

I suppose she’s better at it than I am because the ladies working there all oohed and aahed over her choices and gave Goose high praises for her matching abilities. (They said nothing about the awesome fabric I chose for a future skirt. πŸ™‚ )

If you get a chance, remember my baby tomorrow morning. It’s her first day at a new school.. going from around 200 kids in her grade to over 1000. It’s a bit intimidating.

The 2 print fabrics from this yr’s bag
Rock-N-Roses #6222 by Beverlyann Stillwell
In the Beginning Happy Heynen Painted Dots by Jennifer Heynen

3 Comments

Filed under Sewing

3 responses to “5th Grade Bookbag

  1. It is always interesting to see what the kids pick out. Usually it all comes together fine, even if it isn’t something I would do. And there are times when I just go and pick by myself, because if they don’t see the choices and options then they don’t know what, if anything, they are missing.

    Good luck with school–my baby heads to kindergarten this year. WooHoo!

  2. The light pastels are killing me. I want a little pop and bling. πŸ™‚ I’ve learned to let Goose pick out her own though. She’s 10 and has a mind of her own. If she doesn’t like it it’s just a waste of money. Luckily this one is to her liking. Kindergarten? I bet you are dancing your way around the house. Don’t cry during drop off though.

  3. I agree, one of the hardest things to do is let your child pick the fabrics! Been there, done that! You might as well throw it in the trash if she doesn’t like it! I learned my lesson the hard way! I used to actually shop for my younger girls, picking out things that I hated! But it actually worked, they loved what I bought them! The bag looks good, but I am like you, I love the 2nd grade and 4th grade bags more! I hope Goose did good in her new school! She (You) will get the hang of it soon! Can’t wait to see your new skirt!

Leave a Reply

