See and Sew B5480

I’m actually doing what I said I was going to do, can you believe it? I’ve completed another summer top (3 total)! This time I set out to make a peasant top. I picked one up last year and wear it all the time.. So I thought it would be a good choice. Not only do I love the casual look of them, but also because I can let my gut hang out and no one notices :). Of course there is that chance that someone might ask me when my baby is due..hehe.

 

You can see that the patterns says, “Yes, it’s easy”, and for the most part it was. I had some trouble understanding how I was suppose to attach the sleeves AFTER I completed my french seams (as per the instructions). So I went my own way and attached them BEFORE. Another small issue was the Rayon fabric.. that stuff is slippery.. But as you can see, it came together. And there is still plenty of room for the gut. 🙂

Now that I have one under my belt, I think I’ll make another. I have visions of light weight cotton and plaid.

3 Comments

Filed under Sewing

3 responses to “See and Sew B5480

  1. Looks so cute and comfy! I love peasant tops! I like to make them longer and wear them around the house with leggins (they give my legs energy, I need all the help I can get) LOL! Oh my you learned something new, how did you get your name on your photos? Ben Franklin, I loved that store! Unfortunately we don’t have one any more! (I have been been having trouble with my email here at work, so I will try to remember to email you about the yoda hat when I get home – no pattern, but I have a picture)

  2. Carpool Queen

    I cannot figure out the sleeves!!!! Any tips? I have a hot mess on my hands and cannot for the life of me figure out where or how they are supposed to attach. Especially given that the picture seems to indicate that only a small seam is needed.

  3. I had the same problem.. couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to sew french seams BEFORE you attach.. and therefore I didn’t. I put a safety pin at the top of the inside blouse so that I didn’t get it confused with the bottom.. Working with the blouse inside out, kinda scrunch the top together so that you can visual how it will look… then pin the sleeves and sew.. instead of the pretty french seam I just did a zig zag on the raw edges. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

