Repurposed CD Holder

I’ve mentioned a few times that I work in radio. One tool of the trade is CDs.. and lots of them. Because of this, I have a few of these things hanging out in my office.

Every time I empty the CDs from one I think there must be something I can do with this. Last week during lunch, while I was winding my yarn, it came to me…

comic of Nataliedee

A yarn caddy. Yes!! Duh!

So, I took it down to the office of one of the few “manly” men that I work with and had him cut the rod out of it with his pocket knife.

Then I took it home, because the cut left the hole jagged.

A few days later, when I remembered, I headed out to the garage to pilfer thru my husbands tools until I found this file..

I filed for a minute or two until everything was smooth. Then I threw in my ball of yarn, threaded it thru the now smooth hole and tada…

My new yarn caddy!

Love it! It works perfectly.. and the cat can’t get to it, which is always a plus.

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts, crochet, knitting

5 responses to “Repurposed CD Holder

  1. Aren’t you just too smart! Great idea, Renee. So glad you stopped by and visited Apron Strings today…it’s been too long. oxo

  2. Great idea!! Like my husband always says “When you have a problem, 90% of the time the answer is staring you in the face!” How creative you are! I need one of those!

  3. What a good idea! I’m going to scour my apartment for recycled objects I could use. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. It is actually even easier – On all the cd carriers I have the rod unscrews leaving a nice round hole.

  5. Raymond

    I had one that I reused for a Clarinet stand: the horn slipped over the pillar and then stood upright will i was ‘resting.’
    I found that the center pillar unscrewed making it compact to carry in the case.

Leave a Reply

