Finally, Leotard Success!

Exciting news at our house, Goose made the gymnastics team! She’s been practicing for a few years, slowly moving up the ranks, but now she will finally compete.

Now, here’s where I have to brag a bit… On any given week, there are between 500 to 600 girls attending her gym, but there were only 33 picked to represent them in competition. Exciting news indeed! She’s scared to death about it, but says she’s ready to move on to the next step.

So, pull out your spandex, baby! Here we go!

In honor of her big move, I sat down with my machine and made her a new leotard…love the neon pink and green, don’t you?

In the past I’ve struggled with the tension, but that wasn’t the case with this one. I have no idea of the difference.. The black spandex is the same that I’ve used with others, but with this leo I didn’t have to stop and adjust my machine and the seam ripper was never pulled out of the draw. Finally, success! I love that!

For the super-duper, eye-catching neon stripes and ever-so-nicely sewn trim I used these tutorial from Renae at Creative Chicks at Play…I consider her a swimwear expert! She knows all the tricks.

Swimsuit binding

Swimsuit straps

My pattern was a modified version of Jalie 2792.

For some reason, making leotards is an addition of mine… I could make a thousand of them. I think it has something to do with how fast they come together and the fact that there are so few pieces to cut out.

So of course after the completion of Goose’s latest leo, I got to thinking about another.. And I found some UT orange spandex online.

Woo-hoo!

I might buy a yard of it. My only hesitation is that one of Goose’s coaches is a huge Gator fan..

I know!!! She must surely be deranged or something. 🙂

No, She was on the Gator gym team during her college years (a huge accomplishment).

But much to my dismay, she’s tried to sway the girls to her side of the fence (I told Goose that she’d better start packing her bags). Because of this, I have my doubts as to whether or not Goose would wear UT orange into gym.

We’ll see, still thinking.

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Sewing

7 responses to “Finally, Leotard Success!

  1. Looks great! Glad there were no issues this time around. I’ve been working on some new swimsuit stuff here that I hope to post.

    And thanks for the plug…we appreciate it.

  2. Congratulations to Goose! What an honor, which I am sure, she worked hard for! The leotard is adorable! Goose definitely NEEDS an orange leotard! My son-in-law has a pair of orange shoes that he calls his “Gator” shoes, and I of course call “UT” shoes. Maybe the teacher won’t know the difference!

  3. Happy to plug you all. You’ve helped me so much with my leos and even inspired me to keep trying. I’ve surfed and you offer the best instruction on swimwear, hands down! & thanks for the tease… I’ll be checking your blog for more tips. 🙂

  4. I can think of nothing better than a UT orange leo… but I know Goose.. 10 to 1 she wouldn’t wear it, and then it would be just one more thing that I’ve made and she hasn’t worn. I might try and convince her that orange is HER idea.. I can still get away with that sometimes. 🙂

  5. M

    Congratulations to Goose! I am sure she has worked hard. I bet you are so proud!

  6. I am so proud of her. She’s giving it her all. I hope she’ll dig deep and find her competitive bone. She’s a lot like me in this area… she really just wants to have fun and not worry about winning or losing. We’ll see how it goes.

  7. Well done, Renee.

    Maybe your Goosie Girl just likes to compete with herself. Just a thought.

    oxo

Leave a Reply

