Halen

After a bit of a crafty dry spell I finally have something to show you! My niece is graduating high school this month and I wanted to make her a little something special to take with her to college.. a gift to represent the start of something new, something happy and full of cheer! Halen is an awesome girl and I love her very much, but she hasn’t always had it easy. She has had to figure out much of what life has thrown at her on her own. I’m sure she’s stumbled more than I know, but as a whole, she’s made good choices and has turned out to be a very mature and responsible young lady. I’m proud of her, to say the least.

So after much thought, I decided to make her a bright and happy quilt…It had to be “cool”.. what an 18 year old would consider “cool”. I spotted a little inspiration in this brocher’s tablecloth and thought it was just the thing I was looking for…

Bright and cheery with a slight modification…

My niece’s H.S. Graduation gift.. A bandana quilt.


Talk about quick and easy…sew the squares together, layer it to batting and a back panel, and quilt it with simple straight lines. Two nights and it was done!! Love it! The outcome was just what I was going for..

I can’t wait to give it to her!!

6 Comments

Filed under Family, quilting, Sewing

6 responses to “Halen

  1. It is adorable! I am sure she will love it! I’m praying life gets easier for her!

  2. steph lane

    YOU ARE A MACHINE RENEE!!!!! wow, she will be proud to be seen with that thing. Very pretty and Halen looks like you too! Cool, keep it up chickadee.

  3. Love it! And I know your lovely neice did. 🙂 oxo

  4. Susan

    Renee – I to agree that your neice will love it If not I’ll be more then happy to give you my address and you can mail it to me “:) But it is very beautiful & colorful. I have made several memory quilts but I like this idea because the squares are so big, it is such a great idea. Thanks for sharing the photo’s & the idea with us.

  5. Saw your blanket @ Under the Table & Dreaming!
    LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!!!
    The colors are so bright and cheery! Just wanted to stop by and say awesome and hi!

  6. Kelli Bond

    Would you consider making one to sell? It’s exactly what I need for my daughter’s room. Kelli

Leave a Reply

