My Love Affairs Are Over


She’s finally done! 🙂 Boy, this project took way too long. I’ve noticed that I’m finally tiring of yarn and all that it holds. I suppose this corresponds perfectly with the rising temperatures, and I can’t say enough about those. Yippee! I’m ready to get outside.. I’ve already done a bit of weeding in my flowerbeds, and I’m looking forward to putting down a nice, thick layer of mulch. Life is just better in the summer, ya know? I just have one more yarn project to tackle.. it’s a cute little skirt that is to go with the above shrug. If I hadn’t already bought the yarn I probably would just let it go.. but, the money was spent..so the skirt will be made. I know that once the outfit is complete I’ll be happy that I invested the time. But here’s a little secret, I’ll crochet the skirt because I can complete it 98% faster than if I knit it. I’ve tried different knitting techniques to help improve my speed, but it’s just not happening… there’s no flow. So, crochet it is!


Also, I finished the book – South of Broad by Pat Conroy! It was good and would make for a great book-club read. It even had suggested questions in the back. It’s a story about faith, fate, and friendship that leaves you wondering, even after you’ve finished the book, how the main character will handle the circumstances he’s been dealt. A friend of mine, whom read the book a few years back, said that I would have loved the book even more if I had been to Historic Charleston and could relate the landmarks mentioned in the book back to my own personal experiences. I suppose so… but for me the characters and their adventures were enough. I also enjoyed the way the author laid the story out.. jumping from present day to many years earlier and then back again. If I run across another of Mr. Conroy’s books I won’t hesitate to pick it up.

FYI:

Shrug Pattern:  Ballet Shrug designed by Gail Tanquary – found at Crystal Palace yarns.

Yarn: Red Heart Super Save – Monet

4 Comments

Filed under knitting, Reading

4 responses to “My Love Affairs Are Over

  1. I love the color of the shrug! A skirt too, can’t wait to see the whole outfit! You will probably be able to get that done with the cool days that are still left of the season (like today)! You are so quick, I am sure it will be done in no time at all. Maybe that is why I like crocheting better than knitting, it is faster! Still working on my shrug, just not much time to work on it!

  2. Hopefully I will be able to make that vintage crochet cowl next! I love the green color! How many skeins of yarn will I need?

  3. M

    Smile…. I made the blog. Be home in May. Hope to see you then.

  4. Yippee! Just let me know when & I’ll be there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

