Vegetable Non-Sense & Soup

I love soup. Love it! It’s so good and an easy choice for any meal.. especially lunch. Pop the top, stir in a splash of water, throw it in the microwave and tada! Slurp it down. My favorite is vegetable soup. This sounds weird followed by what I’m about to tell you… I dislike almost every type of vegetable known to mankind. Vegetables just don’t do much for me (minus the health benefits of course).

A few weeks ago, Goose wanted to eat at Panera Bread. She ordered the Broccoli Cheese Soup and I got their yummy Tomato Soup. When we got our order.. I high-tailed it back to our table to escape all the people trying to squeeze down the line… That’s when I noticed both soups were Broccoli Cheese. Broccoli in soup isn’t in my top 5 picks.. but rather than push my way back up the line I excepted the mistake.

So where am I going with all this vegetable non-sense?

I’ll tell you… I’m now very much in love with Panera Bread’s Broccoli Cheese Soup. It’s so good that I wanted more..and so did Goose. So, I Googled the recipe. And from the online pages of GroupRecipes.com I present to you something so delicious..


a copycat recipe for Broccoli Cheese Soup:

1 tbls. butter, melted
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 cups half & half
2 cups chicken stock
1/2 lb. fresh broccoli
1 cup carrots, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
salt & pepper, to taste
2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

Saute onion in 1 tbls. butter

In another pan, cook melted butter and flour , whisking over medium heat for 3-4 minutes

Slowly add half & half while continuing to whisk

Add chicken stock, while continuing to whisk

Once it starts to simmer, let simmer for 20 minutes

Add broccoli, carrots and onions

Cook over low heat until veggies are tender

Add salt and pepper

Pour in batches into blender and mix or use immersion blender

Return to pot and over low heat, add cheese, stirring until well blended

Stir in the nutmeg

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking

5 responses to “Vegetable Non-Sense & Soup

  1. Hi!
    I just saw your note about the knitted shrug I had on my blog (last week???). You had asked about the pattern. It’s one I found on Ravelry, from Berroco. It was under “Shrugs” and named TZARA. It’s somewhat similiar to the crocheted shrug you wrote about recently. It’s knit as a long rectangle and then folded, creatively to create the sleeves. I added the ribbing myself, it didn’t seem finished without it. Let me know if you have problems tracking the pattern down. I’d be happy to email you a scanned copy. Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you.
    Best,
    Susan
    PS Your soup looks delicious!

  2. I Love Soup also, all kinds of soup! I have heard Panera’s Broccoli Cheese soup is good, now I can taste it! It is near lunchtime and the picture is making my tummy grumble! I hope I have all the ingredients to make this tonight! I am a little worried about the nutmeg. Nutmeg and pumpkin pies, yes. In the soup, I’ll have to wait and see, or taste:)

  3. Thank you so much Susan. I found the pattern and can’t wait to dive into it. It’s so pretty, but I have to say, it’s your yarn that sets yours apart. You did an amazing job, and you’re right, the ribbing adds so much. Thanks again!

  4. I haven’t visited in a long time but that soup looks amazing. My kids will fight for the last bowl of it. Can’t wait to try it!

  5. I have now tasted this soup and the soup from Panera! This taste so similar! Jessie loves this soup. Since it is a cold dreary day, we are having this for dinner tonight. Thanks for posting it!!! I love soup!

Leave a Reply

