Ugliest Socks Ever!

My challenge was to make something, anything, with this yarn. I bought it a few years back because it was a super deal and the colors made me giggle.
It’s UGLY, right? I’ll be nice and withhold all label names..  but I will say that when I searched the distributor’s website, the makers responsible for this yarn was no where in sight. Can you blame the distributor for ditching it? It screams 70s. Do you see it? Orange and green? Kitchen appliances, right? I would have guessed that it had been laying around for years!

Okay, so now that I’ve talked trash, let me say.. I’ve grown very fond of this yarn’s ugliness. And even better, I bought it at Big Lots for $1.00 a ball. 1 buck. Or $2.00 for a pair of hand knitted socks! WooHoo! Can’t beat that!


YOU might say I paid too much :), but I think I got a heck of a deal! The more I worked with it, the more it grew on me… and now, I think it’s so ugly that it’s adorable!

Of course these socks are for me.. I don’t think anyone else would want them could love them they way I do. Ugly – yes. Outdated – perhaps. Quirky – absolutely.

But they make me smile, and that’s what it’s all about.

Of course I’ll wear them with boots. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under knitting

3 responses to “Ugliest Socks Ever!

  1. Actually, I don’t think they are ugly, like you do! The first picture looked like it was red and green, Christmasy(?) In the sock picture I can see that it is orange and green. Great deal for $2.00!

  2. M

    Ha Ha! Great socks and great entry!

Leave a Reply

