New Warmth

Oh my gosh.. I almost forgot to show you what I learned over Christmas break…

Yep! I learned how to knit a cable stitch. And the best part, it was easy.. way easier than I thought it would be. You just slide a few stitches to a third needle (I used a pencil) and continue on with your business for a another few stitches, then go back and get what’s on your pencil.

Okay, so yes, this is way over simplified, but really that’s all there is to it… knit a few, purl a few, slide a few, and so on.

I was hoping Goose would like this scarf enough to want it because it matches her new coat… but, no, she said the color was ugly, and that thing that ran down the middle of it looked funny. So I’ve been wearing it… It keeps me warm enough. And with the weather we’ve been having, WARM IS GOOD. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under knitting

4 responses to “New Warmth

  1. It looks great and I love the color! Are you ready to tackle a cable knit sweater?? (the only stitch I know in knitting!) Yes, keeping warm is a priority now! I am glad you have that scarf to keep you warm! I hear you may need it for a while, Sunday is supposed to bring another batch of snow and cold weather! Stay warm and dry:)

  2. Looks good!
    I’m getting ready to tackle my first cables too. Glad to hear you didn’t think they were that tough. I’ll be doing a pillow for my sister’s bday present–at her request.

  3. *I think you’ll be surprised at just how easy they are. If I thought they were easy I’m sure you’ll have no probs at all. I can’t wait to see your pillow – that’s far more interesting than a scarf. :)*

  4. *Yep, it’s cold alright. I don’t think the kids will ever get to go back to school. They’d already called school before we even got this last dump. Of course Goose is loving it.

    Okay, you know how to make a cable knit sweater? I’m impressed. I’d love to make one… but I’m not sure I can decipher a knit pattern well enough to tackle it. One day. If you have a sweater that you’ve made you should post it… I’d love to see it!!! *

Leave a Reply

