Daily Archives: December 9, 2010

Saving Dead Presidents

So, Hubby remodeled our master bath several months ago (he’s almost done), and I’ve slowly but surely been putting the finishing touches on it. We went with the Venetian Bronze hardware on the faucets and shower door frame.. and naturally I wanted the “extras” in the same finish… Well, if you haven’t looked at this stuff you wouldn’t know that it’s expensive.. the trash can costs about 35 dollars. What??? 35 dollars for a small trash can??? Ridiculous!!! I could not bring myself to pay it. Instead I bought this:


Rust-oleum – Hammered – a little less than 8 dollars a can.
I sprayed our old, cheap-o, green trash can and saved myself some big bucks!

This ugly thing above become…

a beautiful, textured, bronze work of art.. (okay, a little dramatic as far as trash cans go).

Now, I won’t lie to you and say that the finishing is exactly that of the faucet and frame… Venetian Bronze has black in it… Rust-oleum – Hammered does not, but considering the distance from the trash can to the faucet and the amount of money I’m saving on this project, I’d say it’s close enough for my liking.

As for today, I’m feeling very smug and quite delighted with myself. I love saving money!

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Decorating