Sweet BIG Summer Cardi

I picked up the July/August issue of Crochet Today.. had to have it.. I saw the Sweet Summer Cardi sweater and bought the issue on the spot. It’s adorable. However, theirs looks better than mine. 😦

This is theirs..

Crochet Today July/Aug 2010 photographed by Rose Callahan at Coney Island on April 13, 2010 for Future US.

This is mine..

Maybe not terribly bad from the front..but look at the back.

It’s not suppose to look like this.. I tried to add pleats to make the fit better…

No, I don’t think it looks better.

Now, keep in mind I’m truly a beginner… though sometimes I go out on a limb and shoot for more. This is one time when I stepped back and went for three.. The pattern is recommended as intermediate level.. but like I said, I paid no mind because I had to have this sweater. My gauge was pretty accurate..only off about a 1/2 stitch, my stitches counted out.. it was going terrific.. that is until I put it on… it’s too big.. and I made the smallest size available. I’ve ripped the body part out twice, decreased some stitches, and still I’m not satisfied. The yoke is just too big. I really needed to start over with a smaller hook.. but it’s staying as is.. If I don’t stop messing with it I might junk the whole thing. We’ll just pretend that I’ve left a little room to grow and move on. I’m sad though.. I really wanted to love this sweater.

6 Comments

Filed under crochet

6 responses to “Sweet BIG Summer Cardi

  1. oh man! I think the color is amazing and it looks really good to me. maybe over things in the winter?!?!?

  2. I love the color! You are talking Greek to me when you use all that crochet terminology! I love the sweater, I don’t think the pleats look as bad as you think they might! (everyone is always more conscious and critical of their own work!) The front is adorable! You could always have your back to the wall when wearing it. 🙂 Why not make another one??? Did it take you a long time to crochet?

  3. *Thanks. I tried hard to make this sweater “just so.” And It’s fine, but it’s not that, “Wow! I can’t believe I made that.” I’ll keep trying though. I’m bound to make one sooner or later that’s perfect in my eyes. Someone really needs to hide my hooks. I’ve got a serious addiction going on right now. :)*

  4. *I think the pleats are horrendous. I hate them.. luckily my hair is long enough to hide at least half of it. 🙂 I might try again.. maybe in the spring… a bright red would be nice too. It really didn’t take me that long to crochet it.. and had I got it right the first time it would have been a breeze. I guess that’s one of the beauties of crochet.. try and try again. There’s no harm. 🙂

    How are you coming along with your flowers? *

  5. Looks to me like you could wear your sweater with pride. Long hair is good…always. You are always so hard on yourself! oxo

  6. *This sweater turned out fine… I just wanted it to be fabulous. 🙂 I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining or being too hard on myself.. I just want to be completely honest.. and let my true feelings show.. I have a hard time swallowing the blogs that make everything sound so perfect.. as if nothing ever goes wrong with their sewing. Some of my creations turn out and some don’t… you always know which is which… I wouldn’t have it any other way :). And thank you for worrying about my confidence. :)*

Leave a Reply

