I Made a Sweater

Can you believe it? I know, right? I’m as shocked as you!

(sorry it’s so hard to see..taking a picture of black through a mirror with no flash is not an easy task)

I’ve wanted to make this little cutie for a while but, I lacked the confidence. The thought of making a ‘sweater’ and being able to wear it once it was made, seemed a little unrealistic to me. I can wing a scarf or blanket.. but a sweater? Well, let’s just say I had my doubts.


I’m not sure what finally spurred me on to attempting it but, in any case, I did it! I MADE A SWEATER!

It’s the “Cupcake” sweater found in Debbie Stoller’s The Happy Hooker.. and, beleive it or not, I followed the pattern and didn’t have much trouble reading it either. I had to stop and think a time or two.. even did a search for help once.. but in the end it turned out!

Now, let me say that this is a terrific book for beginners.. so easy and fun! And the patterns are fresh..not your granny’s crochet.

So, if you’re thinking, “I have that book”.. or “I’m gonna go buy that book”.. you might like to know they’ve made a few minor corrections and clarifications to some of the patterns. Finding this link to the revisions sure saved me some headache.

Now that I have my confidence built up a bit, I think I’ll splurge on some higher quality yarn and attempt another one.  There are some amazing patterns over at Raverly.

3 Comments

Filed under crochet

3 responses to “I Made a Sweater

  1. ((((((((((((((Round of Applauds!!!)))))))))))))) I am proud of you! Your sweater is darling. oxo

  2. That is adorable!! How long did it take you to finish it? I love the scallops on all the edges!! Maybe one day, I can do this too! LOL! First the flowers!

  3. It came together really quickly..just 4 or 5 days, working only when I had the opportunity. I still can’t believe how easy it was. You could do this too.

    Did you get a chance to try the flowers this weekend?

Leave a Reply

