Slow Vs. Fast

threadI’ve been working on something.. Really, I have! I’ve been trying a new applique technique. I’ve always wanted to try machine applique. To me, it look gives it a nice finished look and I’ve heard it’s much faster than hand applique.. You know I love a fast project… But, given my track record these past few months, nothing’s been too fast. You see, I wanted to use machine applique.. but I didn’t want to fool with changing my thread with every color (there’s a lot of color & I’m lazy).. Again, looking to get it done fast. So I chose invisible thread thinking it would be a breeze.. I’ll tell you now, there is no wind in that sail. That stuff had me ready to pull my hair out..and it left ugly stitch holes in my pretty fabric! So, instead of suffering through.. I just choose another route.. a much slower one .. I’m now finishing with embroidery. It’s still not exactly how I’d envisioned it but who knows, I might like it better.. You just never know until you try it.

4 Comments

Filed under quilting, Sewing

4 responses to “Slow Vs. Fast

  1. Invisible thread has given me headaches too over the years. I did learn NOT to use both invisible thread in the bobbin and the top thread at the same time. I have less problems if I do it this way. What are you making???? People want to know!

  2. Well, see.. I was using it in the bobbin.. if you don’t, can you see a little of the bobbin thread peaking through?

    I’m still working on that silly ice cream quilt.. I’ve done a few blocks here and there but haven’t shown them because I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it. I know I can’t wait to get it done. The next time I start something really big because “I just can’t get enough” … remind me that I’m an idiot. 🙂

  3. I am not a fan of invisible thread, either. I look forward to seeing what you end up with. You always come out on top with the things you make. I figure you will this time, too.

    oxo

  4. It’s funny that you say “I’ll figure it out”… I’ve been thinking about my way of doing things a lot lately.. apparently I like ‘figuring’ it out. I guess you know my ways better than I do :). I appreciate that you visit my little blog and leave me comments.. it’s good to have a bloggy friend like you. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

