Silly from Lack of Vitamin D

Oh, Mr. Sun and your 80 degree weather where are you? Please hurry..
I’m missing you so.
I’m missing your touch on my shoulders and your warmth on my toes.
I’m missing the flowers you bring me
along with the leaves on the trees.
I’m missing ice cream, flip flops, and water hoses…
Shoot, right now I’m even missing the smell of melting tar that lingers around my nose… 🙂

he-he..a poet I am not but I really needed a laugh. This has been the longest winter I can remember. Weeks have gone by with no sun at all…literally, as my daughter would say. I’m totally blaming my depressed state and insufficient crafting time on my lack of vitamin D (I have no idea if the two are related :).) I’m withering away and freeze to death. I want to go outside and dig in the dirt and smell fresh cut flowers. I want to sit outside on my patio with a glass of iced tea and eat a hamburger cooked on the grill.

ice cream cone blockThis is my latest Ice Cream Block. Don’t know if I’ll ever get the quilt finished.

Whine..whine.. I really, really miss Summer! Can you tell?

2 Comments

Filed under quilting, Ramblings, Sewing

2 responses to “Silly from Lack of Vitamin D

  1. I agree with you! Seems like forever since I have seen the sun! I want SPRING or at least some sunshine with the winter! Love the ice cream block – can’t wait till you get it all done!

  2. First of all, I love your blog! I agree that lack of sunlight causes lack of Vitamin D. You also may suffer (as I did when I lived in Nebraska) from the effects of Seasonal Affective Disorder which makes one depressed from lack of sunlight. I now live in Texas and we had a relatively mild winter this year. In fact, some of the romain lettuce I planted last Spring came through the winter unscathed!. I also have some peas growing along a fence that went through a hard freeze and is growing like there is no tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

