And Another

pink leotard

But this time in a swirly pink. This fabric was thinner than the last, which meant adjustments.. but it came out okay. My fabrics came from Spandex World and the pattern was Jalie 2792. Oh, the money I have saved by doing this myself. A decent leotard cost around $30 to $35 dollars.. already I’m in the green!! And, I have plenty yardage left for more as she grows. I told myself that this year I would focus on projects that were more than just cute but useful as well.. I believe this one falls into both the cute and useful categories, don’t you? Yay me!

8 Comments

Filed under fabric, Sewing, Uncategorized

8 responses to “And Another

  1. Those are super cute! I think I am going to have to make some for Grace, she recieved the Barbie Nutcracker movie for Christmas so she is totally into ballet right now.

  2. *I have to admit I was totally intimidated by nylon but making a leotard is easier than I ever imagined. If you’re a sewer you can totally do this.. & if you can decipher pattern instructions well and want to try your own, check out this link! http://www.patternschool.com/?page_id=306 . I was in awhh.*

  3. Wow! I am so glad you posted this. My daughter also in Gymnastics she is 9. I am a stay at home mom that loves to sew and she is one of 3 girls. I looked at the leotards at the gym and was quite taken back at the prices myself. so, before her first class, I was in the fabric store and sewing that evening. I do have to say I hunted all over for a pattern. I have one that I use I like it ist is easy but not the same as what you have found. I love your pattern. I will have to try it. At the gym the commented on what a lovely print she had and my daughter said my mom made it. They couldn’t believe someone makes them at home. to my surprise. My 18 daughter is in dance and theater so I make them for her as well. I love your prints on your fabrics, I will have to check it out. I know leo’s can be addictive. My daughter has 6 already and I am always looking to make more. SO I understand. Keep up posting I would love to see more! Thank you again

  4. *I’m so excited that you’re into leos too!! I love feedback and am glad my little post could help you. I’ve sent this link, http://www.patternschool.com/?page_id=306, to someone else but if you missed it in the comment section you should check it out… it shows you how to make your own pattern. πŸ™‚ and I’ve also thought about different variations of the pattern.. (see my attachment to this email). Oh the possibilities, they’re almost endless. Thanks again for your feedback & for checking out my blog!*

  5. Another fantastic leotard! Be careful, you are going to be caught making these for the whole gymnastics class! I miss those days when Jessie was into gymnastics!

  6. *No worries.. Goose thinks her mother’s sewing abilities are soooo uncool. She would rather die than tell anyone that her mother made it. :)*

  7. you know I think this is so fun! And when I think about it…this is the kind of sewing that I grew up with….making useful and cute things. I’ve not bought my daughter clothes at the store in a long long time – do i save? Probably not compared to target but I do when I look at more expensive chain store – and don’t even blink when I compare prices to any boutiques. My goal this year is to make more clothing for my sons too…. the non-cute stuff just isn’t as fun. πŸ™‚

  8. *Oh how I wish my daughter would wear the things I make her. I know there will be a day when she’ll ask for something “special” and want me to make it.. but I tell ya, it’s hard waiting. & truthfully, I don’t care if I spend more money making it than I would if I’d bought it.. sewing brings me joy.. and so does seeing her wear it.. and that’s worth the extra money I might spend. I’m getting sappy here, but the whole process fills my spirit and that’s why I do it. As I’m sure it’s why you do it. I can’t wait to see what kind of “boy” things you come up with. πŸ™‚ *

Leave a Reply

