Knowing When To Say When

Measuring in at a little over 7ft x 12ft and taking just at a month to get her into shape.. Introducing..

“Big Bad Bertha”!!!

Big Bad Bertha

Okay, so she’s a bit much..but I couldn’t seem to stop myself. My first mistake was made when I failed to measure another blanket’s dimensions to use as a guide. You see, I specialize in “eye-balling” it (a trait I both love and hate about myself.. 🙂 We’ll save that for a later post). And my second mistake? Loving these colors too much.

Red Heart Super Saver
Green – 0406 Med. Thyme
Blue – 0380 Windsor Blue
Red – 0332 Ranch Red
Beige – 0330 Linen
Dk. Brown – 0365 Coffee
Orange – 0256 Canst
Med. Brown – 0360 Cafe

You see, I had this quirky pattern in my head that had to be completed before I could stop adding rows. You can’t see it in the blanket..again, it only makes sense in my head.
Sorry, I’m a weirdo.

Bertha's Border

And lastly, the border. Should I add one, should I not? Yes. No. Yes. I started with one round..and then two.. Probably three more rounds would have looked nicer, but it’s good to know when to fasten off and call it a day. So, I stopped at two..and I have to say it’s so nice to have her done!!

9 Comments

Filed under crochet

9 responses to “Knowing When To Say When

  1. minivanlife

    Wow, I can’t believe you got that done so quickly! It looks beautiful!

  2. *I guess a month is pretty fast.. It didn’t feel fast. I feel as though I’ve been crocheting non-stop for half my life. 🙂 I love this blanket but I’ll be glad to wash her and wrap her up for my husband. Not seeing her for a couple months won’t bother me a bit. I’m so ready for something new.*

  3. It turned great, I love the colors. It a nice reminder of autumn and all its goodness, because it is snowing here and everything is white.

  4. *Ugg..snowing? We had such a cool, wet summer here that I’m not ready for winter. But, I guess with this huge blanket at hand I’ll be ready. Maybe I should wait to wrap it up until the week before Christmas :). Just kidding! Thanks for the compliment. She was definitely a labor of love.*

  5. Looks Great Renee!! I didn’t realize it was going to be so large. I thought it was a snuggle blanket for your husband. Really a month is not a long time for a blanket of that size. Time well spent. Are you really going to wrap it up and save it for Christmas? Once the weather gets colder, your husband may have other ideas! What’s next on the list? More quilting?

  6. *It wasn’t suppose to be this big. I guess I was a bit of an over-achiever on this one 🙂 . I suppose a month was quick.. but the only stitch I used was single stitch.. this saved me tons on time. & yes, I will be wrapping it up. If my hubby wants something he buys it. Figuring out what to get him for Christmas is nearly impossible. So, Big Bad Bertha is perfect for the man who has everything. My next project? More than likely my ice cream quilt. I have all the blocks in my head. Now I just have to finish them up and work on her layout. If I focus she shouldn’t take too long. Or at least I’m hoping she won’t. – and on another note, I hope you’re feeling better!?!*

  7. Renee, your blanket is gorgeous! You eye-balled that one just right. And I love the colors! Color is good. What would life be without it? Drab. That can never be said of Big Bertha. 🙂

  8. *Thanks. I love warm colors.. my whole house is filled with them. I like them on clothes too. Bertha was a joy to make.. I was happy when I completed her but am already thinking about my next crochet project. I’m a little stuck on the hook right now. :)*

  9. It’s definitely getting time for me to keep a crochet (maybe knitting) or quilting project going. With the cooler weather I find both very comforting and satisfying ways to pass time. I’m thinking of what to crochet next, too…but in the meantime, I’m making a few lap quilts for my dad. I found a really cute slipper pattern crocheted in worsted weight cotton…for children…I think I might see about whipping up a pair or two. If I succeed in following the pattern I’ll post the results.

    oxo

    —– Original Message —– From: Renee To: comment+h5hj2ft8rimn7fuz@comment.wordpress.com ; judypsp1@hughes.net Sent: Wednesday, October 21, 2009 11:07 AM Subject: Re: [Goosie Girl’s] Comment: “Knowing When To Say When”

    Thanks. I love warm colors.. my whole house is filled with them. I like them on clothes too. Bertha was a joy to make.. I was happy when I completed her but am already thinking about my next crochet project. I’m a little stuck on the hook right now. 🙂

    On Tue, Oct 20, 2009 at 10:48 PM,

Leave a Reply

