Struggling?

For all of the mamas out there that would rather struggle yourself than to see your kids struggle, know that I’m with you. Now, don’t get me wrong.. there are struggles worth fighting.. the life changing kind.. but learning your multiplication tables shouldn’t be life changing.. If you have a child who is struggling to learn their multiplication tables get this book.

multi book

I sat down with Goose, who is incapable of MEMORIZING anything, and learned 0 through 5 in about an hour. It’s true. This is not a PAID testimonial. I bought this book from Amazon for $29.99 because I was desperate to help her learn them. It’s also here on sale now for only 19-95. Our full story is long and disappointing so I won’t go there.. but we had the summer to learn 0 to 12 and, truly, after 2 months we were no further along than we were at the end of the school year.

So what’s the secret in this book, you ask? It’s all about association. First you must make sure your child understands the grouping process.. such as 3×4 is the same as 3+3+3+3.. If they get that then you’re in business. This book relates pictures to short stories that are easily remembered. Within the stories are words that rhyme with the problem and the answer.. See the front of the book? 3×4? There’s a cute little story about a tree(3) and a door(4) and an elf(12). Easy, right? It was for us.

For some kids memorizing is a piece of cake. For Goose, it is not. But with the help of this book she gets it.. and to me that’s all that matters.

9 Comments

Filed under Family

9 responses to “Struggling?

  1. I am so glad that you found something that works 🙂

  2. Before I bought the book I was a little skeptical but after the first 15 minutes I was just so thankful. Now, if we could only find something to help us with spelling..another memorization test. 🙂

  3. Did she use phonics when she was learning to read? My boys learned to read using phonics rather than sight words and they can spell really well simply because they can sound things out. We used My Fathers World for homeschooling and they have a great phonics based reading program, my oldest learned to read when he was 5. They other thing you could try is the vocabulary books from The Critical Thinking Co., they are awesome and reasonable in price, I would highly recommend these books.

  4. I love your vintage scarfs! I wish I could crochet! I am glad you found something to help your daughter! I’m so glad those days are over for me! Have a great day! And I left this just because of your comment about not comments! I am a know lurker of yours!LOL!

  5. *You are so awesome! I will definitely take a look at both of your suggestions. I can not tell you the hours we put in every week just trying to learn 20 words. Thank you, thank you, thank you!*

  6. *Thank you…regarding my daughter and my scarf. I really think my scarf is cute..my husband? He thinks it looks funny. I glad there are others out there would like it too! & see, I never knew you were checking out my crafty stuff.. now that I know, I can visit you too. It makes this blogging thing a whole lot more fun!!! Don’t ya think?*

  7. *I just had a chance to search these.. there are a few to choose from.. Re: My Fathers World, did you use Primary Language Lessons and Intermediate Language Lessons? And The Critical Thinking Co., Reading Detective Beginning – grades 3-4? And which one was your top choice?*

  8. yes, yes, and yes! This is exactly the method we used to teach our oldest multiplication– for those who visualize concepts better than static symbols, this method is a lifesaver! And for spelling, we’re just starting a new book called “seeing stars” that is geared toward this type of learner– the process is supposed to be much more slow, but it *is* supposed to work! I’ll keep you posted!

  9. *Thank you for sharing! I really appreciate your suggestion and will definitely take a look at “Seeing Stars.” I’m willing to try almost anything. We’re desperate at home to find an easier way than memorization. It just doesn’t work for us. *

Leave a Reply

