Daily Archives: September 4, 2009

Vintage Style Scarf Pattern – Sort Of

If you follow my blog you know that I struggle when reading crochet and knitting patterns..Let’s put it down on record that I’m no pattern writer either. However, Megan at In Divine Love asked if I would jot something down so that she could make her own Vintage Style Scarf. So, here’s the jist…

Row 1: Ch 60
Row 2: st 59, 1 ch for turning
Row 3: st 59, st 3 in the last stitch of your 2nd row – this begins your turning and the start of your 1st round.
pattern pic 6

You’ll now be working on the underside of your original chain, or row 1.pattern pic 9

Continue to st around, making sure to add extra stitches as needed at the ends to accommodate for growth or width – kind of like a fan. You’ll know you’ve added enough if your piece lays flat.
pattern pic 11

I worked in this fashion until my piece was the desired width. St should stop at an end.. make sure there are equal amounts of rows on each side of your original chain.
pattern pic 14

Now you’ll want to do a five ds stitch shell stitch around the entire piece. Like so:
**dc in 3rd stitch, this counts as your 1st dc – 4 more ds in same hole. sc to connect your shell. sc in next stitch.** Continue around full scarf, fasten off.
pattern pic 2

For the Flowers, I used this pattern (different size needles to make different size flowers)

Stitch the flowers together and then to the scarf. I just pulled the loose tails through, knotted, and then wove the excess into the scarf. Add a button to the other end with thread. (Don’t worry that there is no button hole; you can easily push it through the scarf just under the flowers and no one will know.)
pattern pic 5

pattern pic 3

My new GREEN scarf to go with my black wool coat. 🙂
vintage green scarf

2 Comments

Filed under crochet