Sneaking Those Veggies In

I’ve mentioned a time or two that I don’t much like vegetables.. In fact, I’ve come to discover through the years that I’m actually a very picky eater. Vegetables fall at the bottom of my food “like” list. There are a few veggies that I can gag down such as cucumbers, green beans, fried okra (I know, fried?, but that’s the only way I can eat it), Shoe peg corn, and maybe carrots if you dip ’em in dressing or cook them with brown sugar. Not a very impressive list, I know. Most moms have to sneak vegetables in their kids diets.. in my case, I have to sneak them into my own. One recipe that allows me to do is the recipe that I call Baked Corn… Goose, however, calls it Corn Cobbler. It’s sweet and therefore you don’t notice that it’s full of corn… and that my friend is right up my alley!

See all that corn?
baked corn

Don’t worry moms, the sweetness of the corn muffin mix totally covers up the corn taste..your kids will eat this!

Baked Corn
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can cream-styled corn
1/2 cup light sour cream
1/2 cup melted butter
2 eggs
1 box Jiffy corn muffin mix

Preheat oven to 350, combine all ingredients in medium mixing bowl and mix well. Pour into sprayed pan, bake for 35 to 40 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

