Whipping Up That Extra Zucchini

zucchini fritters
Garden producing more than you can eat? Friends and neighbors giving you their vegetable overflow? If you’re like me, your kitchen island looks a little like a Farmer’s Market.. I had two different kinds of beans, some squash, corn, potatoes, and zucchini that had to be eaten or they were gonna go bad. Most of it I cooked the tradition way.. but my mom has been raving of her recipe for Zucchini Fritters..so I thought, why not?

Zucchini Fritters
2 cups shredded zucchini
1 small onion finely chopped
2 Tbs. sugar
6 Tbs. flour
2 eggs beaten
2 Tbs. melted butter
pinch of salt
dash of pepper
1 cup parmesan

add a small amount of oil to a frying pan and cook as if you’re cooking pancakes.

My mom and dad love these.. my household, well, they’re alright. I can eat fruit all day long.. but I’m not that excited about my vegetables. I’d say this recipes is perfect for a change-up in your dinner menu…and perfect for using up that extra zucchini you’ve got laying around.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, gardening

3 responses to “Whipping Up That Extra Zucchini

  1. I love fried zucchini. This recipe looks fabulous.

  2. *I think fried is pretty good too.. but my favorite way to eat zucchini is to wrap it up in foil, pop in some garlic salt and butter and throw in on the grill. That is usually how we eat it at our house..we just don’t eat it too often. Squash is good this way too. Thanks for the comment!*

  3. Those look wonderful. Alas, all my zucchini is long gone.

Leave a Reply

