What’s For Dinner

It’s been a while sense I shared a recipe with you so I thought I’d show you what we had for dinner last night. So simple..

Roasted Chicken with Orange Glaze

chicken-030409-004

1 whole chicken, 4 to 5 pounds
seasoned salt
1 rib celery, cut in half
1 carrot, cut to 3 or 4 small strips
1 onion, cut in half
1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 cup orange juice
garnish – chopped green onion or parsley

Wash chicken and rub well with seasoned salt. stuff with celery, carrot, & onion. Place chicken in roasting pan and cook for 3 hours at 325F. With 30 minutes cooking time left, take chicken out of oven and brush well with orange juice and cornstarch mixture. Place back in oven & continue cooking. Garnish before serving if desired.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking

3 responses to “What’s For Dinner

  1. That looks absolutely wonderful! I’ve not shared a recipe in over a week…(my dad being the hospital last week threw me off. My mom called a bit earlier today and said he is back in. This time he’s in the little hospital in the town where he lives. He’s severely anemic and will have blood transfusions.) I hope to get back into the cooking swing of things soon.

    I’ll try that recipe for sure. I love chicken.

  2. That is so pretty, and it sounds good too. My family would probably pass out if I made it….we’ve been on a diet so long that we’ve forgotten what food tastes like.

  3. Diet..I know.. 22 pounds & 200 dollars later!!!! You go girl! I know how difficult losing weight can be… or should I say, how difficult getting up off my booty and exercising can be? You are officially my new hero.

    This little chic should be low in cal.. the “Orange glaze is really just to give her some color.. not much orange taste.. she’s all bird with some veggies stuffed up the end (poor thing). She was good too. Give it a whirl… & really, congrats on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

