Why Aren’t You Clicking?

knit020209
Can you see it?

knit2020209
How about now? I purled when I should have knitted.

It’s been less than a week that I had to rip out around 10 rows due to a couple dropped stitches that I missed seeing.. and now this? Grrrr! It’s my fault…I was watching the Super Bowl, talking with one of my friends, and knitting.. all at the same time. Not a good idea when you’re a beginner knitter. (beginner knitter 🙂 say that three times fast. he-he)

I enjoy knitting, really I do. It keeps me in the same room with my family, I can stop and start at a drop of a hat.. there’s nothing that needs to be put away, taken out, turned on, or cut up.. just pick it up and go. The hardest part, so far, is just the counting. Well, that and the fact that it takes so long to get anything completed. But today, I’m at the point where I’m almost ready to lay this down… you know, one of those incomplete projects that takes a couple of years to finish?

Can you tell I frustrated? I’m a slow knitter, plain and simple… SLOW. If I pick up my pace, I drop stitches and then have to go back and redo..

A clicker is what my aunt calls knitters…”Click, click with every stitch,” she said… “Why aren’t you clicking,” she asked?

You have to have a decent pace in order to achieve the sound effects. My only sound effect is a big, huge, heavy sigh.

I want this shawl to be done already!

1 Comment

Filed under knitting

One response to “Why Aren’t You Clicking?

  1. Renee, I might just feel your frustration better than anyone. I’m still in the very beginning beginner phase of learning to knit. For the life of me I can’t see the difference in my knit and purl…and the info I’ve found teaching knitting has caused me to have more questions…questions the source doesn’t answer.

    I’m contemplating taking a few lessons at a shop not too far from my house.

    I can’t wait to see your shawl.

Leave a Reply

