A Side of This..A Side of That..

Currently, we have a side of beef sitting in our freezer. Aaron bought it because 1. it’s was cheaper than getting it from the grocery store, 2. it was farm raised with no steroid injections, and 3. it’s a way to support a local farmer. This is all very good in my book. But now I have all this beef that I need to do something with. So, I’m finding ways to cook cuts that I normally don’t buy.. like round steak. What do you do with round steak? Well, here’s something I put together that was really easy. After sampling a plate full we all decided it was “worthy”.

Easy Pepper Steak

Easy Pepper Steak
1 small can tomato soup
1/2 can water
1/8 c. flour/dash of salt & pepper (give or take, I just dumped a little in the bowl)
1/2 lb round steak, cut into serving portions
1 1/2 T. cooking oil
1 med. green pepper, cut into strips
1 med. onion, thinly sliced

In small bowl stir flour, salt & pepper. In large skillet heat oil, add meat, and pour flour mixture over meat. Stir to coat. Cook until just brown. Add soup and water. Simmer 15 minute stirring occassionally. Add pepper and onion and simmer another 15 minutes stirring occassionally. Serve over rice.

So easy..

Here’s a little note though.. it tasted really good the night I fixed it.. but left-overs the next day?? Not so go. Meat was tough.. probably because of microwaving.. and the rice flavor over-powered the tomato taste..not something I liked. Anyway, if you make it let me know what you think.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Family

Leave a Reply

