Summer Memories

Alyssa has been counting down the days for two weeks now and it’s finally here… We’re off to see the mouse of all mice… Mickey Mouse at Disney World. I’m sure we’ll all have a blast and come back with nice tans and exciting tales. I’ve never been to Florida and it’s been years since I went to Disneyland in California. My summer memories are of camping at the lake, hanging out at the ball park, and running down Arkansas’s dirt roads barefoot and swimming in the dirty creek with snakes.

(a simple cross-stitch I did a couple of years back because it reminded me of just these memories)

There’s one specific afternoon I remember.. the creeks were drying up and small water holes were are that were left. All the cousins decided it’d be easy to catch the catfish that were trapped in these holes. We didn’t use fishing poles to catch them but jumped on them with our whole bodies. It was so much fun! And we even caught enough for dinner.

Isn’t it funny how times change? What are some of the things you did as a kid that you’d never allow your own kids to do today? As for me, the snakes I talked about in the creek? They were water-moccasins – poisonous. If we spotted one in the water we’d all jump out and throw rocks at it until it swam away and then we’d get back in. How stupid was that? We never even gave it a thought. Kids.

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Family, Ramblings

3 responses to “Summer Memories

  1. I love your cross stitch and was wondering if I can use this image on a post that I am doing. It is so very reminiscent of my own childhood. I think many could relate.

  2. Sure.. feel free. & thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  3. Thank you. I will credit your blog as well. You are very creative.

Leave a Reply

