Flying By the Seat of My Pants

Here’s the truth, I didn’t have a clue as to what I was doing when making this quilt. I just went with it… didn’t think too much about the stitches and what have you. I’d always wanted to do appliqué, well appliqué the right way, without the puckering and such. So I read up a little on it but still not too much. And it was obvious that I would be doing machine quilting because I couldn’t spent too much time on it. It wasn’t hard. Actually I enjoyed it.

So what are my issues? I like the things I look at to be organized. With all the swirling stitches, I knew that there must be a method to this madness and that what I was doing was not how you do free motion quilting. There was no structure, just one big scribble. So, I read a little on that too and found out that there’s this thing called a darning foot and that is what I needed to be using. At this point it was too late, I’d already started and a change in the stitching would be way too obvious. Next time I’ll put on the darning foot and give it a whirl.

So, what do I like? The hills and the organized stitching :), the bright colors, and the way the fabric cozied up in the wash. This was a fun project all-in-all though I obviously still need lots of practice. It’s far from perfect but, I’ll defiantly do another.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

