Happy Halloween!

There’s nothing like waiting until the last minute to get your buttocks in gear, right? Goose has known that she wanted to be Pebbles since Nov. 1st of last year (no, I’m not kidding) and I finally sat down with Mrs. Singer yesterday to get the job done. I believe I have lost my creative mojo. Not only did I attempt to buy this outfit at the store, which they did not have, but I put off making it as long as possible. Not a good sign. All in all though, it came together and she will not only wear it tonight, but has worn it to school today.


I used no pattern… just a pair of PJs as my guide, cutting about 1/4 inch away from the seams. And I made it of fleece so that there was no hemming that needed to be done. The bone in her hair is made of 2 sheets of felt stuffed with batting. It was freestyle at it’s best… the sides are not even equal. Thankfully she didn’t notice. :) And the leg warmers (if you want to call them that) are long and straight and offer no form what-so-ever – just a straight seam up the back.

I’d say the whole thing took me about 3 hours to throw together.. with much of that time spent hand sewing the black fleece triangle-like pieces to the shirt.

A Halloween masterpiece! Can’t wait until tomorrow when
Goose informs me on what she wants to be next Halloween. :) I think I still have a few year’s left to enjoy before she gives up trick-or-treating.. She asked me a few weeks ago if there was a age law that would cut her off. Totally cracks me up. She’s a candy hog.

Hope you all enjoy this evenings fun!

 

Quick note: Goose won 4th in the entire 5th grade with this costume. He-he… tickles me to death!

1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “Happy Halloween!

  1. How adorable! You did a great job! I really miss making my kid’s Halloween costumes! Congrats on your win, but it may have a lot to do with how darn cute she looks in it!! Oh and Jessie is 16 and she and her friends went out trick or treating this year. I wouldn’t be offended if a group of adults showed up at my door, as long as they went to the trouble or “fun” of dressing up!!

Leave a Reply

