Polka Dot or Bulls-eye Sweater

So, my planning paid off and Goose’s Polka Dot, or as I call it Bulls-eye, sweater is finally complete.

Actually, it’s been complete for a while… I’m having a hard time keeping up-to-date with this blog. I used to be johnny-on- the-spot.. now, I’m not as interested. I think Pinterest is the problem.

Anyway, I went with crochet rather than knitting, and I left off the sleeves. It was super easy to make. First, I made a simple circle using this pattern.

I used an H hook and changed my yarn color whenever I felt it needed it.

Abbreviations:
ch = chain
ea = each
rnd = round
sc = single crochet
sl st = slip stitch

To Begin: Chain 2.
Rnd 1: 6 sc in 2nd ch from hook. Sl st in first sc, to join.
Rnd 2: ch 1, 2 sc in ea sc around. Sl st in first sc, to join. (12 sc)
Rnd 3: ch 1, (sc in next sc, 2 sc in next sc) around. Sl st in first sc, to join. (18 sc)
Rnd 4: ch 1, (sc in ea of next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc) around. Sl st in first sc, to join. (24 sc)

Additional Rnds: For each new round, add 1 extra sc stitch to the number of sc stitches between increases (an increase is done by making 2 sc in one stitch). For example, round 5 would have 3 sc between increases then round 6 would have 4 sc between increases and so on.

When finished, end off. Weave in ends.

Throughout this process I held my work up to Goose’s back and measured my progress. Once I thought it was ready for the arm holes I marked the openings with small scraps of yarn.. like this…making sure they are even in number of stitches.. I had 14 on each side.


Then, I began my next round of stitches at the point that will fall just under the arm. Continue with that pattern. When you get to your next marker (just under the other arm) make a chain stitch of 14 (or the number equal to your arm holes), then go back to sc and finish with the pattern until you feel your sweater is the right size (I finished my last 2 rows with fringe yarn).  Add a tie to the front and you’re done.

1 Comment

Filed under crochet

One response to “Polka Dot or Bulls-eye Sweater

  1. This is definitely a Bulls Eye! Why did you leave the sleeves off? I love sleeves! I am always cold! Is this a cardigan or a plain sweater? The fringe yarn really adds something! I love it!

Leave a Reply

