Hello Fall

The only positive thing about colder weather?

Soup!

 

Zuppa Toscana Soup (Olive Garden knock off)

1 lb ground Italian Sausage
1 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1 large white onion
4 Tbs bacon pieces
2 tsp garlic puree
10 cups water
5 cubes chicken bouillon
1 cup heavy cream
1 lb sliced russet potatoes
1/4 of a bunch of kale – chopped

Saute sausage and red peppers in large pot. Drain, refrigerate.

In same pan, saute bacon, onions and garlic over low-med heat until onions are soft.

Add chicken bouillon and water and heat until boil.

Add diced potatoes and cook until soft – approx. 30 mins.

Add heavy cream and cook until thoroughly heated.

Stir in sausage and kale, let all heat through (approx. 15 minutes) and serve.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Hello Fall

  1. I love fall. I’m cooking SO much soup.

  2. This looks interesting! Soup is one of my favorite things to eat! I have never eaten kale. What does it taste like? Is it similar to spinach?

  3. This soup is hearty and full of flavor. As for the kale standing out.. it didn’t. Not to my taste buds anyway. But I can tell ya that it has a kick at the end that comes from the red pepper… It warms you up nicely :) and is one of my husband’s favor soup recipes.

  4. I need to make this!! I have kale in the fridge right now! Thanks Renee!

Leave a Reply

