Puff-Sleeved Cardigan

I’m ecstatic to finally have this sweater done! (It’s taken me 3 weeks just to sew the buttons on.) I bought the book, The Crochet Closet (Leisure Arts #4800) by Lisa Gentry, about a year ago. (The last I checked it was on sale for only $13.63 – awesome deal!!)

I’ve admired the sweater on the cover for so long. My first two attempts were a bust, at no fault of the pattern. I have issues… Meaning: I’m much too lazy to count.

Anyway, In my first attempt I was 3/4 of the way finished with the body of the sweater when I noticed this…

What in the world! So, I pulled it all out and started again.

In my second attempt I was completely finished with the body of the sweater when I noticed this…

What in the world! So, I pulled it all out and started again.

The third and final time I smartened up and counted – most of the time. You know, old dog..new tricks. :) Did I mention I hate to count?

I’m happy with the finished garment. I think it’s really cute and will look nice with a long sleeve T underneath, a pair of faded jeans, and some flats. Perfect for Fall.

It’s a very simple pattern.. consisting of only single and double crochet stitches. Very doable for those with a few crochet projects under their belt – especially if you don’t mind counting. :)

Book: The Crochet Closet (Leisure Arts #4800) by Lisa Gentry
Pattern: Puff-Sleeved Cardigan
Yarn: Canon – Simply Soft – Sage 4 balls

Note to self – if you make this sweater again go with one size smaller. Also, pattern uses every inch of the yarn required.

2 Comments

Filed under crochet

2 responses to “Puff-Sleeved Cardigan

  1. Wow! I don’t know if I could have pulled it out twice. I would probably have it sitting in a ball in my sewing room! It definitely was well worth the effort though! It turned out beautiful!!

  2. Thanks for the compliment! Trust me, that 3rd time was tough!! I’m glad I hung with it though.. I think this is my best sweater to-date. :) & besides, it’s the escape that crochet give me that I enjoy the most.

Leave a Reply

